CNC Plasma Cutter

Ask questions and discuss the CNC Plasma Cutter project here.

Can your manual control board blueprint that you built for your mill to cnc conversion be used to operate a Nema 34 stepper motor and be used to operate a plasma table.

I am considering building my own cnc control system. Another reason why I may prefer to build my own cnc control system is once my budget permits I would like to build the same mill to cnc conversion using your build guides. I feel using Mach4 for both the Plasma table and CNC mill will make it easier. Being that I have no CAD or tech experience what would you recommend being you used both interfaces.

“recommend being you used both interfaces.”

Did I say somewhere that I used Mach?

My apologies Frank, but my response is going to be disappointing. I do not have experience with Mach3/4, so I don’t want to say anything foolish.

I do know that the Mesa board that I used for my CNC mill is not compatible with Mach. I don’t have any experience with these boards, but I had heard that the SmoothStepper motion controllers work well with Mach and have Torch Height Control (THC), which is a great feature for plasma cutting.

To answer your first question, yes the Mesa board and LinuxCNC can be used for a Plasma table.

David,
Would you be able to provide me with a list of parts required to build a Plug N Play control board for a plasma cutter. I will be using Nema 23 stepper motors and a Hypertherm 45XP for my plasma. I will also using Mesa board as well as LinuxCNC. Any information will be highly appreciated. THANK YOU

Frank,

I apologize for my delayed response. Work has been busy. You can follow my Milling Machine Build to select parts. Obviously, you wouldn’t need that large of stepper motors, drivers, or power supply, but they are a good place to start.

With the Mesa ecosystem you can use the THCAD to sense the height of the torch.