3D Food Printer

Ask questions about and discuss the 3D Food Printer project here.

Dr D Flo: Where did you go? Hey that rhymes!

I have been working on the 3d syringe pump gantry since June 2019. I have been plagued with problems since day one on the electronics side. There is not much on the internet to trouble shoot when things do not go according to plan.

I have worked through the following:
1.) motors would not turn on.
SOLUTION: purchased separate components and assembled for a 3d build then replaced each component from my unit to the known working system. Found that after testing components each was operational. THE PROBLEM WAS THE PULSE AND DIRECTIONAL WIRES WERE REVERSED!
This took months to figure out and watching over 100 hours of videos and internet sites.

2.) wiring to motors - soldering connectors (bad connections)
SOLUTION: purchased military style connectors and replaced for motors and endstops.

3.) Wiring Ground connection (connectors - substandard)
SOLUTION: Soldered connections.

4.) End Stops - Had to reconfigure several times. Had them going to the wrong axis.
SOLUTION: Rewire and reset end stops. They would not trigger- wired to wrong posts on connectors.
Also- adjusted MARLIN GCODE - Several times

5.) Motor direction: motors would turn in Pronterface in opposite direction. Example would move away from endstop in negative axis
SOLUTION: Changed in Marlin from false to true.

SO I HAVE WORKED THROUGH THESE PROBLEMS.

CURRENT PROBLEMS:
1.) Z AXIS - you have the endstop set at Z-MAX - I do not know where to place the phyisical location of the endstop? At the bottom of the arm (closest to the work table) or at the top of the arm farthest from the table.

2.) Not sure with Z + (Moves arm upwards direction) and Z- moves the arm down to table? Is up max and down min?
SOLUTION: Installed both Z-Max and Z-Min.